top of page

Become a Doula in 1 day!

Always dreamed about supporting women in pregnancy and birth? Maybe you have thought about becoming a doula, but were unsure where to start. This one day training will be your springboard to your new doula career. 

Blissful Birth Doula

This training will help you quickly understand the Nashville birth scene and give you the skills to start your doula business. You can get support and connect with other local doulas and birth professionals when we add you to our Nashville Facebook group. After the training we will be here to answer any questions you have as you start your business and serve women. If you are interested, we will also send you information on volunteering as a doula in one of the local hospitals.

*This training requires 4 -5 hours of prep work to be completed before the training day. Once registered, you will get a link to the class videos. Please complete them before attending the in person part of the class. 

Blissful Birth Doula Training Covers:

8:30 am - 12:30 pm

• The anatomy, physiology, and emotions of labor and birth

• The Standards and Scope of a Doula

• Code of Ethics

• Cultural Inclusivity 

• Informed Consent & Birth Planning

• Hospital Environment & Staff Jobs

• Hospital Policies and what to expect at a birth

• Epidurals and Cascade of Interventions 

12:30  Lunch Break

1-5

• Doula Tools including Rebozos and Peanut Balls

• Pain Reduction & Comfort Techniques Based on Neurophysiology

• Hands-on practice of Labor Support Techniques and Birth Scenarios

• Creating Space in the Pelvis

• Working with Challenging Situations

• Postpartum and Breastfeeding

• Additional resources

• Finishing your doula certification and mentoring

 

After completing the class, you will receive your certificate that you are trained via email and the exclusive digital Blissful Birthing Trained Doula badge in jpeg format. After this class you are a trained doula, not certified. To get certified, you will need to complete the 10 steps below. 

Read the trainer's, Rebekah Porter, bio.

$70

Next Trainings:
Smyrna, TN
January 13, 2024
March 23, 2024
June 22, 2024
September 14, 2024

rebozo sifting.jpg

CERTIFICATION

10 Steps to Certification:

1. Attend our birth doula one day training (9 am -4 pm). If you attended a physical in person training from another organization, contact us because this could count towards your certification. 

2. Take a basics of breastfeeding class (online or in person) or be a La Leche Leader or Choose one of the options below:

Latching:

https://www.breastfeedinghousecalls.com/free-online-breastfeeding-class.html

$40 http://cindyandjana.com/simply-breastfeeding-online-course/

$25 Medela https://www.medelabreastfeedingus.com/breastfeeding-university

https://globalhealthmedia.org/videos/

Global Media Health Breastfeeding Videos

 

3. Provide birth doula labor support to 2 clients and their families.

4. Create a list of Local Area Resources (45 resources in at least 15 categories)

5. Attend a childbirth class in the hospital or an independent class  within the last 2 years (Free)

6. Go to EvidenceBasedBirth.com. Read 2 articles. Write a paragraph about each one.

7. Attend a Rebozo class by Rebekah Porter ($30) via video class

8. Attend Resolving Conflict in the Birth Room ($30) via video class

9. Attend a Baby Loss training  via video class ($30)

10. Connect to the community by attending 2 different group meetings. Choose between La Leche League, ICAN, Baby Wearing International, or Nashville Breastfeeding Coalition.

Certification Includes:

1. Training workshop taught by Rebekah Porter who has worked in the birth field for over 27 years.

2. (BBCD) credential: “Blissful Birthing Certified Doula” will be added next to your name to bring confidence and credibility to your business. Blissful Birthing has been in the Nashville community for over 9 years and is a trusted name throughout middle Tennessee.

3. Receive via email a digital Blissful Birthing Certified Doula badge to add to your websites and business cards (png and jpeg format).

4. Sample client intake forms, contracts, & birth plan templates.

5. Added to our exclusive Facebook page for Birth Professional where you can connect with other local doulas, ask questions, and get support.

6. Name listed on this webpage for others to find you.

7.  Lifetime Certification! Never have to renew your certification or pay a yearly fee. Certify once and be done!

8. Flexibility to complete the certification at your own pace matching your family needs.

9.  Email support from an established doula. I am happy to answer your email questions.

Registration

The website will be updated as trainings become available.

To register for the one day birth doula training click on the book a class button. If you want to pay via Venmo (@BlissBirth) or cash, email blissfulbirthingtn@gmail.com.

I am excited to share my knowledge with you and help you begin your journey of serving birthing women to have a Blissful Birth. 

If you have any questions please contact Rebekah (BlissfulBirthingTN@gmail.com).

Hire a Trained Doula

Trained Doulas

Elizabeth Ringer:eamcclelland@comcast.net  Elizabeth Ringer Birth Doula

Briana Buckley: buckley_08@yahoo.com

Courtney Baker: courtneymbaker1996@gmail.com The Dazzling Doulas

Amanda McCaleb:  amandaccaleb547@gmail.com

Elizabeth Ringer: eamcclelland@comcast.net 

Judy Edgell:  jceedgell@gmail.com 

Chloe McKinney :snickerdoodlekernodle@gmail.com 

Cierra King Peterson:  cking21.ck@gmail.com 

Brittni Bates-Lester:  sapperbritt@hotmail.com 

Lisa Mullins: lisalovebug89@gmail.com 

Dixy Sharkey: Dustiney1993@gmail.com

Summer Watts: edenbirthtn@gmail.com

Donnicka Hodge: dlatess75@icloud.com 

Kristan Gipson: kristan.dayon@gmail.com

Eugenia Thomas: eugeniathomas83@yahoo.com    

Stephanie Borgman: Stephanieborgman@me.com 

Krystan Hall: krystanhall@gmail.com  

Stephanie  Garthright: ducttapeandmore122@gmail.com

Brittany Morefield 

Ashley Winslet  

Cynthia Sucher 

Connor Giddens connorgiddensclc@yahoo.com 

Kaitlin Elizabeth Loux kaitlinelizabeth89@yahoo.com 

Daisy Schwenke daisy_may_1319@hotmail.com

Sarah Winterscheidt: sarahnicolewinter@yahoo.com

Marci Hedegard: overdramanic@sbcglobal.net

Jenna Walker: jennawalker92@gmail.com

Amanda Standish amandastandish25@gmail.com

Nara Carvalho: narinhasatti@gmail.com

Amanda Bilyeu-Garrison:  babybundle0463@gmail.com

Sanielle Townsend: tsanielle54@gmail.com 

Lindsey Bowden: lindseyj.bowden@gmail.com

Kaylyn: kaylyn4198@gmail.com 

Lindsay Hamilton hamilton.lindsay.s@gmail.com

Mary: maryfleenor42@gmail.com

 Ariel McCasland  (865) 223-8124 arielmccasland@gmail.com 

Emanuela Balos (773) 396-0995 ema@ebdoula.com 

Christen Waring 615605793 christenhopewaring@gmail.com

Emily Spicer espicer4life@yahoo.com

Denise Miller (615) 779-3997 limelife86@gmail.com

Jessica Julius  Brown jessicajulius63@yahoo.com 

 Sierra Holmes (352) 362-1662 sierraholmes11015@gmail.com

Lauren M. Hawkins mslmw88@gmail.com

Julie Davis heyjulied@icloud.com

Kiara Littlejohn littlejohnkiara91@gmail.com 

Aalaizah Walden laalaizah@yahoo.com

Tanaya Larsen Tanayalarsen@gmail.com 

Tamara Carpenter (615) 480-8926 mvp1383@gmail.com

Bella Estes (802) 825-4455 isabellaestes13@gmail.com

Jacqueline klein (931) 306-9520 jacquelineklein7349@gmail.com

Briaunna Bonicelli (901) 308-9138 bbonicelli9138@gmail.com

Carol Doyle  615-480-4552 christmascaroldoyle@gmail.com

Shanda Miller (931) 309-5877 millersandra47@yahoo.com

Allison Deschamp (615) 970-8896 allison.e.deschamp@gmail.com

Kirsten a.kirstenjoyner@gmail.com?

Jae glitzandglambyjaelove@gmail.com

Brianna Lawrence: naleik17@gmail.com

Amanda Gronda: aemegronda@gmail.com

BreAnna Russell: bluetiger6984@gmail.com

Lindsey Hyman: lindseyhyman86@gmail.com

Natasha Simmons-Crutcher :  ncrutcher70@gmail.com

Mandi Reeves: mandi@mandireeves.com

Renee Davis: rdavis777@ymail.com

Michelle Eva: michelleeva@bellsouth.net

Geralyn Smith: geralyns18@yahoo.com

Jonna Bell: tim.bell05@comcast.net

Katie Tucker: scatterbrainednashville@gmail.com

Amanda Dobson: amfagan7@gmail.com

Sherry Cravens: Sherrycravens@gmail.com

Tishanna Poulson:tishanna.p_06@yahoo.com

Carolyn Paine: carolyn.paine8@gmail.com

Susan Echols,whisperingspringsdoula@yahoo.com

Emily Owingsemily.m.owings@gmail.com

Abijah Hunter:abijah12@yahoo.com

 Carol Bingham: handywomancando@gmail.com

Debra Kofie: dkofie@yahoo.com

BethAnna: bethanna89@yahoo.com

Shaina Chanel Steinmann: shainasteinmann@yahoo.com

Jodee LaVoie: jodee.lavoie@gmail.com

Tanja R Smith: tanjarsmith@yahoo.com

Daniela Cullen: npdaniann@yahoo.com

Leslie Exley: leslie.parker@gmail.com

Amy Pippindomesticengineer@gmail.com

Lillikoi: lilikoiyod@gmail.com

Whitley Chamberlain: Parkerwhitley24@gmail.com

Natalie Gilbert: nataliedgilbert@gmail.com

Raven: raven.dobbins@gmail.com

Sarah Swai: sjswai@cn.edu

Jolane Morgan: jolanek.morgan@gmail.com

Tekimbria Allen: allentekimbria@yahoo.com

Melonie Tungate: melonietungate@gmail.com

Emily Heggan: emhemusic@gmail.com

Connee Bates: stevebates32@comcast.net

Jordyn Blackwood: write2jordyn@gmail.com

Larriel Topps: Larriel_shaw@yahoo.com

Asa: asa.v.proctor@gmail.com

Alyssa Gilbert: amgilb05@gmail.com

Chloe Hawkins www.sacredhouseofeden.com

Lauren Ambrose  laurenambrose16@gmail.com

Sierra Creamer sierracreamer@icloud.com

Elizabeth Kinard elliekinard@gmail.com

Sandie Griffith sandiegriffith@comcast.net

 Elizabeth Frachick misselink@gmail.com

JaNina Wright beepers1985@gmail.com

Jessica Layman jtraver2@gmail.com

Sarayah A Stewart twistedelegance79@gmail.com

Danielle Settles  daniellec.settles@gmail.com

Betsy Jennings dorothy560@aol.com

Nadiah Gola Nadia.gola@gmail.com

Katie Montie designedtobloom@gmail.com 

Loree Eaker eaker.loree@gmail.com

Chloe Penton chloe.penton99@gmail.com

Mandi Snyder snyder9509@yahoo.com

Jessica Harris hello@jessharrisphotography.com

 Utahna Brown utahnabrown@gmail.com

Kelly Brier kellybrier12@gmail.com

Elizabeth Thomas elizabethpatriciathomas@gmail.com

Lyn Smith lynsmith3@gmail.com

Alyssa Morgan africasmomma@icloud.com

Cicely Wilson Cicely@cicelycares.com

Heidi Thornberg heidithornberg@hotmail.com

Candace J Rufus c.rufus93@gmail.com

Kayla Kaylacribbs@ymail.com

Morgan Jane Mackey mjsweets26@yahoo.com

Shelby shelbydwight2017@gmail.com

DeVinna Joiner devinnajoiner@gmail.com

Jillian Bradbury  jillianbradbury2004@gmail.com

Sharon Weaver Madison weaversharon24@gmail.com

Penny Forte pforte@comcast.net

Caitlin Lankford caitlinlankford303@yahoo.com

Alicia Daniloff aliciadaniloff@gmail.com

Susanna Fox susannajfox@gmail.com

Susan J Ochart sjochart@hotmail.com

Melinda Ledford melinda.ledford@gmail.com

Enallia Beverly ebeverly096@gmail.com

Vanessa Pugh vpugh1@yahoo.com

Elizabeth Tompkins, elizabethdeanntompkins@gmail.com

Yvette Hendree  bodybutter39@gmail.com

Tatyana TempleTatyana_temple@yahoo.com

Susan Drechsler susandrechsler17@gmail.com

Lexi Dominguez onejoyfulheart@live.com

Daja Thomas dajarthomas1988@gmail.com

Rachel Maley  rachel.maley20@icloud.com

Rachel Gibbs rlgibbs1985@outlook.com

Gabriella Gabrielle.reynolds19@hotmail.com

Denise Hill dchill1224@gmail.com

April Wellikoff ajwellikoff@gmail.com

Tabitha England tabitha.england18@gmail.com

Alexi Humphrey lexi.humphrey@yahoo.com

Rachel Anderson rma.anderson@outlook.com

Sandra Buchanan sweetnesssandy@yahoo.com

Meghan Beutler meghan.beutler@gmail.com 

Jada: starnesjada@gmail.com

Anna Aycock annainbx@gmail.com

Kristen Foster  kristenlewisperry@gmail.com

Kellie Ashley  kchristineashley@gmail.com

Kylie Halperin kylierhalperin@gmail.com

Jolina Petersheim jolinapetersheim@yahoo.com

Savannah Stark. savannahjaynestark@gmail.com

Aaryel Johnson Francis aaryelfrancis@gmail.com

Lara Parker larasuzanne89@icloud.com

jo claudia austin hawknfan@gmail.com

Angela Mitchell Hill  doulaofdreamsforyou@gmail.com

Natalie Bullion  natalie.bullion124@gmail.com

Emily Walker scary-07.wallows@icloud.com

Jayd-Lynn Perez  jayd.l.a.perez@gmail.com

Kimberly Vaughn servicesbykim@gmail.com

Brittany Vaughn brittanyhub25@yahoo.com

Shantanique Tolbert Nique.Tolbert11@gmail.com

Crystal Bojniewicz crystal.nicurn@gmail.com

Abby abbyfelts010418@gmail.com

Ashley Wojtas ashleybleoaja@gmail.com

Rachel Green ragreen0698@gmail.com

Trinity Sebranek ttbelle17@yahoo.com

Catherine Durland ndurland@lyft.com

Hailee Creger haileecreger@yahoo.com

Chinita Pierce chinita.pierce@gmail.com

Angelia H Weast Angelaweast@gmail.com

Adrian Hall  amhall0610@gmail.com

Stephanie Jenkins sjenkins0925@gmail.com

Jenna Koonce Jenna_koonce@yahoo.com

Briana Jenkins brianajenkins128@gmail.com

Morgan Jones sendmohelp@gmail.com

Victoria Wells wellsvk@gmail.com

Kimbra J Cunningham kimbracunningham1@gmail.com

Michelle Garland paintermichelle@yahoo.com

 Stephana Northern ssnorth5@gmail.com

Thutrang Nguyen Healthy365win@gmail.com

Sounita Snodgrass  persia.d@yahoo.com

Sarah Riepe sarahriepe14@gmail.com

Kimberly Taylor kimberlyrenae@yahoo.com

Alexi Charko alexileah7@icloud.com

Aniya Jones ajones0513@mscc.edu

Heather  heatherflokstra@gmail.com

Elizabeth Reed Betsy betz_r2001@yahoo.com

Mija Nichols mnichols@alumni.lipscomb.edu

Jennifer Pate  jenniferpate78@gmail.com

Domonquica Bluing  latrice8734@gmail.com

 Pamela Jakab  pamelajakabmt@gmail.com

Regan Naumovski regannaumovski@gmail.com

Christina Fleming christinaf2448@yahoo.com

Della Hopkins dodi.hopkins@gmail.com

Greta Osburn greta.osborne@yahoo.com

Jasmyne Starr Chism starrchism616@gmail.com

Kameka Word kbword@gmail.com

Kelsey Lowder klowder888@gmail.com

Kelci McGee, kelci.mcgee@gmail.com

Kourtney Kirchmeyer kourtneypaigek@gmail.com

Madison Hall madihall94@gmail.com

Madison Sloan mrippetoe97@gmail.com

Mary Kate Catignani mkatherineyates@gmail.com

Natasha Mayfield  natashamayfield@comcast.net

Regina Patton reginapatton10@yahoo.com

Renee Harward, reneeharward@gmail.com

Savannah Del Ray savannahdelray@gmail.com

Sonya Boykin smboykin@bu.edu

Stephanie Fromm steffromm@gmail.com

Tessa Hall tessahall99@gmail.com

Victoria Faye Grubbs victoriafgrubbs@gmail.com

Kameron Alexander  kam.ray@me.com

Kelsey Dirksen kelseystoneman9@gmail.com

Caroline Hardy  ceondrey@gmail.com

Cecilia Ozier-Martin ceciliamanuel4@gmail.com

Lyssah Fry  lyssah.fry@gmail.com

Meghann Glover  gloverfamily11@gmail.com

Niokie Mimms cf4kueen@gmail.com

Marybeth A Prentice mprentice685@gmail.com

Callie Silvers calliesilvers1006@gmail.com

Anna Stoltzfus annaky886@gmail.com

Amanda Misner maternalwithamanda@gmail.com

Amanda Pritchard pritchard.kay.family@gmail.com

Leigh Valdes lminnigan@gmail.com

Farran Watford watfordfarran@gmail.com

Corrie Craig koliex4@yahoo.com

Julia Grace Clark julia.graceclark4@gmail.com

Tania mederos  tmederos84@yahoo.com

Morgan Jones jonesmorgan77@gmail.com

Kristin Whittemore  kwhittemore@att.net

Hannah Cullum hmcullum@hotmail.com

Tiana Springfield  t.newson@yahoo.com

Anne Catherine Lyons anniekate.lyons@yahoo.com

If you have taken the training, please fill out the survey by clicking here. 

Frequently Asked Questions

1) With this doula certificate where can you get hired or what companies hire doulas? 

You can get hired with any doula group. The truth is that there is only one "doula" group around here that hires more doulas and they only hire once a doula leaves their group which is not very often. Most doulas start their own business or band together to start a group. 

 

2)  Are we signing up only for a class to get info on how to become a doula or is it an actual course? 

You are signing up for an actual course. What I cover is listed above and will be a springboard to developing great skills to serve women.

 

3) Do we get a certificate simply for attending the class?

You will get a trained certificate at the end of the class that you will use if you want to volunteer at Vandy or keep on file for yourself. 

 

4) Do we pay extra for taking a test for the certificate ? If so, how much is the test?

There is no test. Just a fun day of learning with you to know you are going to be a great doula.

 

5) Is the certificate good only in certain state or all over U.S?

It is good in any state. No state requires a certificate. You can just start your doula work. If you want to be hired at a hospital, some of them require that you are certified through the organization they pick. 

 

6) How often do you have to retake the certificate test?

Never. Improving your doula skills depends on you. A test is not going to make you a good doula nor tell me if you are good at what you do. Your passion for learning and serving women will drive you to improve in ways that a test never can.

 

7) Does the certificate expire if you don't do doula jobs?

Nope! It is yours forever.

 

8) Do you have to report to the state that you are doing doula jobs for your certification to stay active ?

No state requires doulas to be trained or certified. It is not a job that is legally mandated in any way. Anybody can all herself a doula. It just makes the job easier if you have been trained. 

 

9) How much does a doula get paid per job?

A doula charges what she wants. Nobody and no law mandates that. A beginning doula charges about $350. A doula who is certified will charge about $600. A doula with tons of experience will charge $800 and up. It takes about 18 hard working months to start and grow your business.  Clients will not fall in your lap. You have to work to get them. 

10) What is a day in the life of the doula like?

That is a very tough question to answer. There are many ups and downs. It means having your cellphone on 24/7. It means leaving everything at a moments notice to run to a birth. You miss dinner parties and birthday parties. To get a better idea of the life, watch L A Delivery Girls.

If you are a trained doula and want more tips to get your business started, visit my new doulas page

rebozo sifting.jpg
PXL_20201107_181528431.MP.jpg
doulas training
bottom of page